About screen resolutions, email, scanning and themes

A few days in, my mother still isn’t convinced of the superiority of Ubuntu.

In my previous post I explained that I could not enable Compiz because Nvidia’s restricted driver only allowed screen resolutions up to 1024×768.
However, it appears that my mother complained about the resolution being too high! My brother, even though he suffers Linuxphobia, easily found how to change it so my mother is now running at a ridiculously low resolution πŸ˜‰
In any case, this allowed me to enable Compiz. I did so without telling her – and so far, she doesn’t seem to have noticed. I’m sure it’ll at that little extra touch to the experience though.
Meanwhile, ikkefc3 left a very helpful comment, so it now it possible to use a higher resolution, were my mother to want that.

Then my mother also had a question about receiving new emails in Evolution – new emails wouldn’t land in her inbox automatically like it did in Outlook Express. I told her I’d come to help her in a sec, but when I arrived she had already found out by herself she just needed to push she Verzenden/Ontvangen- (Send/Receive-) button. Very cool.
I suggested that there surely would be an option in Evolution’s settings so it would also check automatically, but she said it was fine this way too.

As I mentioned in my first post I was afraid that the Epson DX8450 scanner/printer-combination might not fully work. Since there wasn’t any printer ink left I haven’t been able to test that, but scanning indeed did not work.
However, using a forum post on the Ubuntu Forums by user wflu I managed to install the drivers recommended by Epson and scanning now works. Quite likely, printing will also work without a problem.

So what’s next? Well, I’m planning to look for a better GTK theme together with my mother, because I agree with her that the default one is just too bulky. Together with Compiz, most, if not everything, configured and everything working right now, I’d say that Ubuntu might have become quite appealing. Let’s hope my mother agrees πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “About screen resolutions, email, scanning and themes”


  1. 1 ikkefc3 15 January 2008 at 6:41 pm

    My parents use the theme “MurrinaCool” and the Metabox window borders with only a bottom panel with a nice transparent panel PNG(screenshot: http://img527.imageshack.us/img527/4180/schermafdrukkp9.png ). This looks really nice. They also complained that the resolution 1280×1024 on a 17″ TFT was too high. I solved this by enlarging the standard fonts and in Swiftfox they can use CTRL and + to enlarge the fonts. Especially if you have a LCD panel, this looks nicer than a low resolution (but it’s heavier for your graphics card if you use compiz).
    My mother also uses Beagle Desktop search very common for finding her documents (Tracker doesn’t sort documents on date correctly) and Tomboy for storing things like standard mails or notes (yes, they learned it all in using Ubuntu for 6 months, it started when their pc was ubuntu-dualboot and Windows wouldn’t start).

  2. 2 Pistahh 9 February 2008 at 7:55 am

    Could you try printing with the Epson 8450 since then?

  3. 3 Vincent 9 February 2008 at 10:24 am

    @Pistahh – yes, printing works fine. In fact, about everything works like it should. Anyway, I should do a new post too soon, I’m getting lazy (or covered with schoolwork) lately 😦

  4. 4 ikkefc3 21 February 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Still no updates? Did your mother give up Ubuntu?

  5. 5 Vincent 21 February 2008 at 4:33 pm

    ikkefc3 – you are completely right, and I’ll go and write a post right away πŸ˜‰

    Edit: I’ve finished it, but I’ll publish it tomorrow so I can re-read it with a fresh mind. Stay tuned πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Lex Ross 7 April 2008 at 10:32 pm

    It’s a shame Ubuntu manual would not tell you much about using Compiz and all its shortcuts. The way I discovered it was Open SuSE manual, and it cost me several hours of surfing. Then I had to install Compiz configuration tool which has explanation to various options. It is unclear why compiz options are packed the way they are. Win+TAB should be in basic options, as it does not require faster graphics card. And my 65yo dad finds grouping and tabbing windows to be very convenient. It does not heart to have it enabled in advanced effects, rather then sticky wobbling windows that are annoying to people of all ages.


Leave a Reply

